Heaven’s Gate Minute by Minute: 115 of 229

16 Oct

115 of 229

Creepy man in a cabin! How many times in your life have you been able to exclaim that? Highlight of this minute is the emergence of a mysterious, grubby man named Fred. He is covered from head to toe with filth. Admittedly, I can’t see his toes, but I think it’s safe to assume. Or is it? Fred could have the cleanest feet in all of Johnson County, for all I know. I shouldn’t write people off like that. I’m so discriminatory sometimes.

I think the make-up department may have gone a little over board with the dirt on his face. It looks a little like shoe polish and Fred has an unfortunate minstrel vibe about him. This film has animal cruelty under its belt; perhaps it’ll chalk-up some flagrant racism too. Again, I’m quick to judge. Fred is probably a magistrate, wealthy landowner or President of the United States with a mudpack to keep his skin supple.

Leave a Reply

