Heaven’s Gate Minute by Minute: 125 of 229

27 Oct

125 of 229

Fade in and the intermission is over. Thank goodness! I don’t know what I would have done if I was forced to review a period where nothing happens. Though, I’ve managed thus far.

Now that there are pictures on screen, I am reminded how visually stunning this film is. But then again, so is a taser to the eyeballs and you wouldn’t have that done to you for four hours.

A man stands over the stationmaster who is asleep under a dead tree. The man’s long coat flutters majestically in the breeze. It’s very Matrix. I wonder if this scene was an influence? I’m now of the opinion that The Matrix films are an homage to this scene. A dead tree, a stationmaster – do I need to draw a diagram for you? Alright, someone grab me some graph paper.

Leave a Reply

