Heaven’s Gate Minute by Minute: 139 of 229

10 Nov

139 of 229

The men are from the Stock Growers Association. I don’t think this is going to end well. As one man swigs from a whiskey bottle, Ella comments she has plenty of whiskey and invites the gentlemen to help themselves.

Agreeing with Ella’s assessment of her brothel’s whiskey supply, the swigging man jokes there’s enough whiskey in the joint to bathe in and tips the remainder of bottle on his head. See, I told you people washed with whiskey in the Wild West.

It’s an authentic looking liquor bottle, I must say. Though, I’ve never been to the Wild West and the only old whiskey bottles I’ve seen were in movies, so I could be wrong. I’m not a bottle expert, though I wish I was. I could have studied it at university, but as I was sitting my entrance exam… well, that was a long time ago and it’s all whiskey under the bridge now. I’ve moved on and I don’t think about it much anymore… A shepherd looked at me strangely as I was reading the first question. He had a staff and everything. I was completely thrown and my bottle expert dreams were smashed into tiny pieces like a, a… I don’t know; something that smashes easily.

Leave a Reply

