SFF 2011: HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN: Delivering justice one shell at a time.

9 Jun

By Luke Folkard

Jason Eisener’s semi-comedic, Technicolor exploitation flick, Hobo With a Shotgun, is the second fake trailer made real from Tarantino and Rodriguez’s 2007 Grindhouse double . If you enjoyed the first, Machete, you should be pleased with this retro VHS gore fest that harkens back to the seedy cinemas of the 70’s and the dusty video shelves of the 80’s.

For fans of John Carpenter, Dario Argento, and the tradition of the old slasher era, this is a must see, with an authentic and excellent soundtrack to boot.  Made in Canada, on the cheap, I must also hint that fans of Trailer Park Boys should be taking a look.

 

Bladerunner villain, and veteran Dutch actor, Rutger Hauer delivers convincingly bad one-liners and yet somehow also brings dignity to the eyes of Hobo (while continuously eviscerating with the shotgun).

A HUGE warning to the weak of stomach and sensitive of temperament: simply avoid this movie! You will be confronted every few minutes with scenes so borderline taboo even the hardest horror fans will double take. Fortunately, this movie is almost never serious, leaving you laughing though every dismemberment and worse.

Definitely the sleaziest, wrongest film of the SFF this year or maybe ever.

7/10

Hobo with a Shotgun is showing again at Sydney Film Festival on Monday, 13 June

3 Responses to “SFF 2011: HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN: Delivering justice one shell at a time.”

  1. san jose property July 17, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Hello I am so glad I found your blog page, I really found you by error,
    while I was researching on Bing for something else,
    Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a tremendous post and
    a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look
    over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep
    up the awesome jo.
    bad boy welcome to the jungle

  2. anabolic steroids July 18, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how could i subscribe for a blog web site?

    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea
    half price books university of houston downtown

  3. xcqgy.com July 18, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    What’s up to all, the contents existing at this site are actually awesome for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.
    게스 ondertitel

Leave a comment